(+974) 44114500
main image

About Qatar


Qatar is a peninsula located halfway down the west coast of the Arabian Gulf. Its territory comprises a number of islands including Halul, Sheraouh, Al-Ashat and others.

Topographic Features:

The terrain is flat and rocky with some low-rising limestone outcrops in Dukhan area in the west and Jabal Fiwairit in the north. It is characterized by a variety of geographical phenomena including many coves, inlets, depressions and surface rainwater-draining basins known as riyadh (the gardens), which are found mainly in the north and central part of the peninsula. These areas have the most fertile soil and are rich in vegetation.

Land Area:

The total land area of Qatar is approximately 11,521 square kilometers.


The population of Qatar amount to 1,500,000 inhabitants (according to the initial results of the second stage of the 2009 population census).
83% of inhabitants reside in Doha and its main suburb Al-Rayyan.

Capital City:


Official Language:

Arabic is the official language in Qatar, and English is widely spoken.


Islam is the official religion of the country, and the Shariah (Islamic Law) is a main source of its legislations.


Qatar has a moderate desert climate with long hot summers and short mild winters and little rain in winter.

Major Towns:

Doha, Al Wakrah, Al Khor, Dukhan, Al Shamal, Mesaieed, Ras Lafan and others.


The official currency is the Qatari Riyal (QR), which is divided into 100 dirhams. The Exchange parity has been set at the fixed rate of US $ = 3.65QR's.

National Day:

The 18th of December every year in commemoration of Sheikh Jasim bin Mohammad Bin Thani the founder of the State of Qatar.

27 June:

On the 27Th of June His Highness Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani assumed the rule of the State of Qatar supported by the ruling family and the Qatari people.

Public Holidays:

National Day: 18th of December in each year.
Eid Al-Fitr Holiday: Starts from the 28th of Ramadan until the 4th of Shawwal .
Eid Al- Adha Holiday: starts at 9th of Zilhijjah until the 13th of Zilhijjah .

National flag:

The national flag is maroon colour with a broad vertical white stripe at the pole, the two colours being separated with a nine-point serrated line.

Meaning of the flag:

A- The white colour reflects the internationally recognized symbol of peace.
B- The maroon colour symbolizes the bloodshed during the several wars Qatar had undergone, particularly in the second half of the 19th century.
C- The nine-point serrated line indicates that Qatar is the 9th member of the "reconciled Emirates" of the Arabian Gulf in the wake of concluding the Qatari-British treaty in 1916. This information on design and colour of Qatar flag was mentioned in the Archives of the British Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1931.

Work Hours:

Government offices: 7 am to 2 pm.
Private establishments: 8 am to 12 noon, and 4 pm to 8 pm.
Friday and Saturday are the weekend holidays


Local Time:

3 hours + Greenwich Mean Time.

Electrical Current:

240 Volts + 6% with frequency 50 hertz.